Sullivan County Democrat
O n l i n e  E d i t i o n National Award-winning, Family-run Newspaper
  SPORTS ARCHIVES Established 1891 Callicoon, New York  
home  |  archives
Democrat Photo by Rob Potter

The Pee Wee Comets Football Players and Coaches

Season Ends
With Awards

By Rob Potter
FALLSBURG — November 23, 2004 – The Fallsburg Comets Pop Warner Football program concluded its inaugural season with an awards ceremony on Monday, November 15.
Family members and friends watched proudly as the Pee Wee football players, Pee Wee cheerleaders and mascots, Junior Pee Wee football players and Junior Pee Wee cheerleaders and mascots were honored by their coaches and league officials in the Fallsburg High School auditorium.
Before asking each of the players and cheerleaders to come up on stage to receive a trophy, coaches of the four squads thanked everyone from Fallsburg Central School Superintendent Walter Milton Jr. to parents to area businesses that sponsored the program to the bus drivers from Rolling V Corporation who safely got the players and coaches to away games and back home again.
Valerie Luczyski, the head coach of the Junior Pee Wee cheerleaders, recalled how she felt the night of Saturday, September 11. On that evening, the Pee Wee Comets played the Northern Dutchess Raiders and the Junior Pee Wee Comets faced the Beacon Bears in the first-ever home games for the Fallsburg Pop Warner program.
“Walking up to the field and seeing that crowd of 500 people was just incredible,” she said. “Thanks to everyone who helped bring the sport of football to our community.”
While the vast majority of players and cheerleaders in this year’s Fallsburg Pop Warner program were from the Fallsburg Central School District, some youngsters from the Liberty, Monticello and Tri-Valley districts also participated.
League officials noted that the season was very successful. In fact, they are considering the addition of a third team next autumn. That potential squad would be for youngsters in higher weight class. (Pee Wee players must weigh between 85 and 115 pounds, while Junior Pee Wee players must weigh between 70 and 100 pounds.)
“This is the best thing to happen to Fallsburg in a long time,” said Lewis Borko, one of the board members of the Fallsburg Pop Warner Jr. Comets Football and Cheering Association.
“I wish we had this program when I was a kid,” added Borko, who is a graduate of Fallsburg Central School.
While the season recently ended for the players and the Junior Pee Wee cheerleaders, the Pee Wee cheerleaders have one more competition this autumn. The squad is planning to compete at the Empire State Classics this Saturday, November 27 at Monroe-Woodbury High School. The competition is for Pop Warner cheerleaders from around the Hudson Valley.
Coach Kiffanie Rodgers noted that her squad has been practicing three nights a week for the past few weeks to get ready for the competition.
“These girls really love to cheer,” Rodgers said. “They don’t want it to end.”
In addition to an individual trophy, each youngster received photos of themselves and their teammates. A professional photography company took individual and team photos of the players and cheerleaders this season and those photos were purchased for the youngsters by parents and family members.
Those photos arrived a couple of days prior to the awards ceremony, which worked out well for everyone involved.
The coaches of the 2004 Pee Wee Comets are Dennis Martin, Pete DiMilia, Paul Marsden and Adam Ramirez.
The members of the Pee Wee football team are Jimmy Bertholf, Noah Borko, Russell Corley, Braiden DeGraw, Peter DiMilia, Matt Frunzi, Zack Ingber, Shane Jackson, Andrew Juarez, Evan Luczyski, Shanice Mack, Charles Marsden, Michael Matarazzo, Desi McDaniel, Ethan Meadow, Anthony Perrello, John Ramirez, Mike Scuderi, Dykwan Wells, Michael Weist and Zack Yearwood.
The coaches of the Junior Pee Wee Comets are Dave Luczyski, Jason Grossman, Les Jackson and Robert McKeon.
The members of the Junior Pee Wee team are Rich Elliott, Cody Exner, Mike Foster, Christian Fountain, Griffin Fountain, Shakree Gibson, Reggie Gutierrez, Quinn Jackson, Joe LaCatena, Shane Luczyski, Jarrett Madison, Jericho Male, Shane Martin, Nick McClean, Cory McKeon, Ryan McKeon, George Perrello, Sabastian Sanchez, Mo Sutton, Rakkir Watson, Cody Vegliante, Ed Webb, Brandon Weist, Ryan Zweck and Thomas Zuewsky.
The coaches of the Pee Wee cheerleading squad are Kiffanie Rodgers, Robynne Malman, Jamie Moore and Mabel Pabon.
The Pee Wee cheerleaders are Brynn Bertolf, Cassandra Colon, Courtney Dramazos, Jessica Holman, Deborah Male, Lindsay Malman, Annie Moore, Amanni Sitz, Shanise Tisdale and Tamara Williams. The Pee Wee mascot is Trisha Yearwood.
The Junior Pee Wee cheerleading coaches are Valerie Luczyski, Debbie Gates and Carla Wells.
The Junior Pee Wee cheerleaders are Cristal Cannon, Ashanti Carter, Kierra Miller, Stephanie Rossi, Brittany Smith, Morgan Vegliante, Rosalinda Webb, Amanda Wilson and Tania Walker.
Lisa Nardi is the coach of the Junior Pee Wee mascots.
The Junior Pee Wee mascots are Katlyn Dubose, Nia Fountain, Deja Holder, Ashlyn Nardi and Brianna Oliver.

top of page  |  home  |  archives